Minister of Environment, Hon. David J. Russell Attorney General, Hon. James L. Foster Solicitor General, Hon. Roy A. Farran Minister of Utilities and Telephones, Hon. Allan A. Warrack

Minister of Government Services, Hon. Horst A. Schmid

Minister of Social Development and Health, Hon. Helen Hunley

Minister of Business Development and Tourism, Hon. Robert W. Dowling

Minister of Parks, Recreation and Wildlife, Hon. J.A. Adair Minister of Municipal Affairs, Hon. Richard Johnston

Minister of Consumer and Corporate Affairs, Hon. Graham Harle

Minister of Agriculture, Hon. Marvin Moore Minister of Education, Hon. Julian Koziac Minister without portfolio (Native Affairs), Hon. Robert Bogle

Minister without portfolio, Hon. Stu McCrae Minister without portfolio, Hon. Dallas Schmidt.

## 3.3.1.10 British Columbia

The government of British Columbia consists of a Lieutenant Governor, an Executive Council and a Legislative Assembly. Since March 19, 1973 the Lieutenant Governor has been the Honourable Walter Stewart Owen. The Legislative Assembly has 55 members who are elected for a term not to exceed five years. Following the December 11, 1975 election, 35 Social Credit members, 18 New Democrats, one Liberal and one Progressive Conservative were elected to the Assembly. (One Social Credit seat is under appeal.)

Each member of the Executive Council and the Legislative Assembly receives an annual allowance of \$16,000 and an annual expense allowance of \$8,000. In addition, the Premier is paid an annual salary of \$28,000, each Cabinet Minister (with portfolio) \$24,000 and each member of the Executive Council without portfolio \$21,000. The Leader of the Opposition and the Speaker receive special expense allowances of \$19,000; the Deputy Speaker and the Leader of a recognized political party, \$8,500.

The Executive Council of British Columbia as at December 31, 1975

Premier, President of the Council, Hon. William R. Bennett

Provincial Secretary, Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Recreation and Tourism, Hon. Grace M. McCarthy.

Minister of Finance, Hon. Evan Wolfe Attorney General, Hon. Garde B. Gardom Minister of Health, Hon. Bob McClelland Minister of Human Resources, Hon. William N. Vander Zalm

Minister of Economic Development and Minister of Agriculture, Hon. Donald M. Phillips Minister of Labour, Hon. Allan Williams Minister of Mines and Petroleum Resources and Forests, Hon. Thomas M. Waterland

Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing, Hon. Hugh Curtis

Minister of Education, Hon. Pat L. McGeer Minister of Environment, Hon. Jim Nielsen Minister of Consumer Services, Hon. Kenneth

Rafe Mair Minister of Transportation and Communication, Hon. John (Jack) Davis

Minister of Highways and Public Works, Hon. Alex V. Fraser.

## 3.3.2 Territorial governments

## 3.3.2.1 Yukon Territory

The constitution for the government of the Yukon Territory is based on two federal statutes: the Yukon Act (RSC 1970, c.Y-2) and the Government Organization Act (SC 1966, c.25). The Yukon Act provides for a Commissioner as head of government and for a legislative body called the Council. Under the Government Organization Act, the Minister of Indian Affairs and Northern Development is responsible (with the Governor in Council) for directing the Commissioner in the administration of the Territory.

The executive level of the Yukon government consists of the Commissioner and Executive Committee. The Office of the Commissioner incorporates several functions: he is the head of the territorial government and the senior representative of the Department of Indian Affairs and Northern Development in the Yukon Territory. In addition, the Commissioner performs duties similar to those of a Lieutenant Governor in relation to the Legislature.

In administering the territorial government the Commissioner is assisted by the Executive Committee, which is modelled on a cabinet structure. The Committee is composed